Author Topic: Working and Graduate School  (Read 4477 times)

curlycue

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Working and Graduate School
« on: May 04, 2014, 07:44:45 PM »
 So I will be starting graduate school for public health in the fall. I will be living in Baltimore and don't want to take out loans for the cost of living. Any ideas for jobs that can cover living expenses while in grad school? My background is nonprofits so I don't make the kind of money some other professional do.

Also, any advice on living cheaply? I don't want to live out of a van, currently I share a room in NYC but have found most grad students don't want to.

Thanks in advance for any of your experiences that worked for you or any ideas you have!

jodon

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Working and Graduate School
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2014, 07:46:44 PM »
Do you have any funding/stipend from your school? Are you having to take out loans to cover tuition and fees?

curlycue

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2014, 08:10:40 PM »
Tuition will be covered by partial scholarship and loans.

jodon

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2014, 08:31:07 PM »
If there's any way to get a TA/RA or any position on campus that comes with a tuition waiver you MUST pursue it. That adds thousands in offset tuition to the meager wage you'll earn. I assume you're paying out of state tuition since you're going from NY to Baltimore? If so, you should look into how you can establish residency in Maryland ASAP (regulations vary state to state - it may not be possible while you are in school full time). Since you work in non-profits, have you considered the Public Service Loan Forgiveness program?

Having been in grad school for too long, I can tell you that it's very easy to rack up the student loan debt. Debt avoidance/mitigation should be your primary concern, especially since you're entering a field with a less-than-lucrative earnings potential.