Author Topic: Work situation. What would you do?  (Read 2971 times)

ChelseaBlair

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Work situation. What would you do?
« on: February 07, 2017, 01:35:05 PM »
Hi!
More of a lurker on this board, but I'm curious to get a Mustachian's point of view on my current work predicament.

Background: I am a freelancer in events and in general, really like my job. I work with different clients, usually on a contract basis. For the past 2 years, I have been working for the same company/client on a permanent program. I have been offered a few freelance jobs during this time, but none that were tempting enough to make me consider leaving my job, as I'm really happy there. I was just offered a job where I will earn more money at the end of the year. Here is the breakdown:

Current job:
+:
-Amazing client/represent an authentic brand
-Amazing team at my company
-Amazing events (that people pay thousands of dollars to go to), types of events I have wanted to be involved with
-great salary
-great flexibility (I am able to take off 2 months a year during our slow season)
-about 50% travel, but I don't get much free time in my travel

-:
-Work is non-stop during our busy season
-I work at least 2 weekends/month with long hours
-Busy season can be very stressful
-Now have to book our travel through a travel agent so I may not get all perks (ebates cash back was about 1k/yr, also many free nights from hotels.com, unclear on if hotels will be affected, airline miles should be unaffected)
-Once I leave, I probably won't have the option to come back
-go into work about 1x/wk, which costs $30-40/time I go in (this is not negotiable..train tickets during peak hours and subway is required)

Prospective job:
+:
-Will save a minimum of 10k/high side of 20k more than I do at current job (lower weekly salary, but a cash per diem for food and housing is provided and I've done many programs that I know what savings is. This savings is after tax)
-About 8 weeks less of work