Author Topic: Work fulltime with kids under 5 or go part time?  (Read 2857 times)

Mellabella

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Work fulltime with kids under 5 or go part time?
« on: March 30, 2019, 07:19:44 PM »
Hi, so I'm not at this stage yet but I have been thinking when I'm ready to have kids I don't really want to be working full time and sending my kids to daycare but I know this will slow down my savings considerably. When they are school age sure because school but it is such a precious age that goes so fast and I don't want work to be my first priority like it is now (I am a social worker which is pretty draining). I could send them to my mum's (she lives close by and has said this is ok) 2-3 days a week and work part time until they go to school at least. What do you think? What have you done?

11ducks

• Pencil Stache
Re: Work fulltime with kids under 5 or go part time?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2019, 08:59:07 PM »

Through necessity I studied full-time and worked part time when DS was young- if i had the option i would have rather done part-time. Kids are so full-on in those years 1-5, and it goes so quickly. You are exhausted constantly. I would certainly keep my foot in the door of my career, but would do part time if it is affordable.

beer-man

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2019, 09:17:56 PM »
If you can go part-time I recommend it although your situation is definitely different than ours.
 My wife tried to go part-time and her company would not let her. She stuck it out for another year and quit to stay home. Now 10yrs and 3 kids later she is trying to get back into her field and is having a hard time as the technology has changed immensely and employers in her field don’t like seeing a resume gap. Despite all that she has enjoyed  staying home and we wouldn’t change our situation.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bogart

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2019, 09:38:21 PM »