Author Topic: Will my father-in-law find out about mother-in-law's Roth?  (Read 3214 times)

Panda Bunny Bird

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Will my father-in-law find out about mother-in-law's Roth?
« on: December 15, 2013, 05:37:07 PM »
Hello all!

I'm a 27-year-old recent grad and new convert to Mustachianism. My partner and I are currently in the process of straightening out our finances and making plans for the future.  One major part of these plans is to be able to offer a home to his parents when they retire in 2 to 3 years - they are immigrants from Latin America with working-class type jobs, limited education, and zero retirement savings.  We figure that with no rent to pay, Social Security and Medicare should enable them to live in reasonable comfort. They can pay us back by helping us with the kids we hope to have. Both DH and I are very satisfied with this plan.

The parents are in their early sixties. The fact that they are broke is partly due to the sacrifices they made to bring their children to the US and get them educated (all three kids graduated from college and have decent jobs), partly due to the fact that are low-wage workers in a HCOL city, and partly because my FIL tends to gamble away any extra money they do happen to acquire.

MIL, to mitigate her husband's irresponsibility, periodically deposits small amounts of money in DH's bank account, asking him to keep it for her and not tell his father. She now has about 2000 dollars in savings parked with us.