Author Topic: Wife flipped out when I brought up the idea  (Read 168246 times)

scrubbyfish

Re: Wife flipped out when I brought up the idea
« Reply #300 on: August 09, 2014, 05:26:40 PM »
I have my master's in education, I teach at a private school... and when I have kids I fully plan to send them to public school.

Can we hear more about this, please? i.e., What factors sell you on public school for your kids? (Full disclosure: Public school sucked for my son, and private school is too expensive for us, so we homeschool/unschool with some funding from government for community classes, etc.)

SisterX

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #301 on: August 11, 2014, 11:24:27 AM »

Right now it seems like you have a pretty defeatist attitude about getting to FI because it would take a long time and would be hard.  Well, duh, as are most things in life that are worth doing are hard.  You have to ask yourself if the hard work is worth it to you.  You have to be very clear about your goals, and why they benefit not just you but your whole family. 

"Of course it's hard!  If it wasn't hard, everyone would do it.  The hard is what makes it great."

Couldn't help it, you just made me think of that quote.  (From "A League of Their Own", for those who haven't seen it/don't remember that part.)

Villanelle

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #302 on: August 11, 2014, 11:54:23 AM »
Another thing to root out, when the times comes, is what she needs in a city in order to consider living there.  Her list of acceptable choices seems pretty short, and I wonder if that's no based on some misconceptions.  A city like San Diego, for example, has lots of culture and plenty of big city amenities and opportunities.  For most people, the notion that it would be somewhere to consider when COL is a factor is insane, but coming from NYC, it certainly would be a step up (or really a step down, I guess!) WRT living costs.