Author Topic: Why isn't education and earning emphasized as much as lower expenses?  (Read 10240 times)

Giro

• Pencil Stache
I've read through a great many of the case study posts and I often see budgeting advice.  The answers are usually great things like sell the car, don't use credit cards, shop at the thrift stores, cook at home, etc.  But, I never see go back to school, learn a trade that's in demand, etc. 

To me that makes the most sense.  The only reason I'm FI today is because a few years  after I graduated college with an Accounting degree and got my CPA, I realized that where I lived, I was going to top out at around $100K and that was cream of the crop in my field.  Yes, I live in a very LCOL area of the country.  Yes, I could afford a home and pay it off quickly.  I could move and earn more, but housing was more expensive.  BUT, if I got into Engineering I could be earning $125k in just a few years and that was the average.  So that's what I did.  Homes are dirt cheap around here.  Taxes are based on home values so those are cheap also. 

I get the idea of selling expensive cars that people can't afford.  I get living below your means and saving everything you can.  But doesn't increasing your means to the maximum potential in the area get you there a  hell of a lot faster than saving $300 on your car payment every month. 

And imagine if you do both.

One of the guys I hired about six months ago told me that "It's easy to make money."  And I believe that.  But, you have to look at a job as a way to make money and nothing else.  It certainly puts a new spin on things.  Not out for the satisfaction or to feel productive or to give back or to have fun or to do something you enjoy doing  yada yada. 

Thoughts?

Hurley82

• 5 O'Clock Shadow