Author Topic: Why are you retiring early? :)  (Read 11904 times)

P938LVR

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • My Fiverr
Why are you retiring early? :)
« on: July 28, 2014, 06:49:31 PM »
What are your reasons for retiring early (beside the obvious not wanting to work lol)?

MsRichLife

• Pencil Stache
    • Living My Rich Life
Re: Why are you retiring early? :)
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2014, 06:54:52 PM »
I consider it to be buying back my time.

There are so many things I want to do during the reasonably short time that I'm on the planet. I don't want to ever feel 'trapped' in a job because I need the money. If I work, it's because I choose it to be a valuable use of my time. If I have better things to do (raise my son, travel, learn, read a book) then I get to choose that instead.

KMMK

• Handlebar Stache
    • Meena Kestirke Insurance
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2014, 07:18:55 PM »
I'm not good with commitments and I want to be warm in the winter.

deborah

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2014, 07:49:38 PM »
I consider it to be buying back my time.

There are so many things I want to do during the reasonably short time that I'm on the planet.
+1

To a certain extent there is also the ability to "find myself" - try the things I want to do, and decide whether they are for me. Live a slow life. And the freedom to do necessary things - my father has cancer, and I can now visit him whenever I need to.

EricL

« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2014, 07:51:04 PM »
It's complicated. But to be brief: Because I can.

Davids

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2014, 08:22:19 PM »
My goal is to achieve FI by 40 (I am 32) but I do not think I am going to retire until I am 50. Part of it is I like the place where I work and for career perspective I have goals I want to meet. Now once I achieve FI and if things change where I start hating my job or other reasons then well sayanara.

MoneyCat

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2014, 08:52:33 PM »