Author Topic: Who works from home? Career advice  (Read 11946 times)

haflander

• Bristles
Who works from home? Career advice
« on: July 25, 2017, 01:05:19 PM »
Hi all! FIRST POST, woo! I discovered MMM a few months ago and haven't stopped reading since. I've made a few changes but still have a long way to go. I'm facing a big career decision that will obviously affect my financial future, so was hoping to get some thoughts...

A little background first. I'm a millennial who graduated a few years ago. I have an English degree (also a double major with History). During college I worked part time editing theses, dissertations, and journal article submissions; usually they were in the science and medical fields. This yielded my first salaried job after school as a medical editor. I worked for a mid-size firm that does research and contract/consulting work for the huge pharmaceutical companies like Genentech, Johnson & Johnson, Bayer, Takeda, etc. That company kinda sucked so I moved on to a very similar job with a huge global corporate outfit doing the same things for the same clients. I'm pretty pleased that I've been able to use an English degree in the health field. Often a degree in humanities is worthless on its own, but if you add experience in a hot field (tech, health, oil + gas) you can demand a pretty respectable salary.