Author Topic: Which retirement accounts should I be using?  (Read 1754 times)

the_fella

• Stubble
Which retirement accounts should I be using?
« on: December 06, 2018, 07:41:55 PM »
I have a self-directed Roth IRA, a taxable brokerage account, and a state run pension. I am a school bus driver, and as such, I pay into SERS (instead of Social Security), a state-run pension for non-teaching school employees (though I work for a private company, not the district itself). Because I pay into SERS, I'm eligible to use my state's 457(b) plan, which I am currently not doing. The company just started offering a 401(k), but they don't offer any type of match, so I don't see the point.

Right now, I am invested only in the Roth and the taxable account, with a focus on the taxable account. Right now, I am in the 0% capital gains bracket, so I don't see the point of dealing with the restrictions of the Roth.

My thinking was that I could start contributing to the 457(b) just to be able to use it to buy service credit in the pension. Regardless of how much credit I have, I won't be able to retire until I'm in my mid 50s at the very earliest (I'm in my late 20s now). You vest after 10 years of credit, but there are mandatory minimum age requirements for retirement, in addition to service credit requirements. I am coming up on three years of earned credit. Purchasing additional credit would allow me the freedom to leave the job and still have the pension to look forward to when I reach retirement age. As I mentioned, I don't pay into SS for this job, so I don't have a ton of SS credit. I have worked here and there in jobs that do pay into SS, though. We do still pay into Medicare.

What are your thoughts? Am I way off the mark, or do you have other ideas? I welcome helpful suggestions!

FIREball567

• Stubble
Re: Which retirement accounts should I be using?
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2018, 10:15:57 PM »