Author Topic: which miter saw to get?  (Read 8195 times)

MrSal

• Pencil Stache
which miter saw to get?
« on: May 12, 2016, 08:03:12 AM »
Hi there!

I am in a little bit of a conundrum here regarding which miter saw to get... maybe someone could help me out here weighing some pros and cons.

I am no expert, more of a weekend warrior DIYer.

Currently I have a couple options I am thinking:

- Kobalt 10 inch sliding compound miter saw - 199 USD at Lowes (I can get this one for 140 USD out of pocket due to a combo of gift cards that I bought for 20% discount and coupons)

- Hitachi 12 inch sliding compound miter saw + miter saw stand at Lowes - 430 USD ( however through the same as above I can get it out of pocket for 290 USD ... and it comes with a Hitachi miter saw stand)

- Dewalt dws 709 12 inch compound sliding miter saw - 399 at Lowes (again out of pocket I can get it for 275 USD)

Price wise, of course the Kobalt is good. However I value like the iPhone, resale price. I believe both Hitachi and Dewalt, if I were to use it for a few years and happen to resell them at a later date, they would retain their value more.

However, that Hitachi is HUGE.

Con of the Dewalt that I have seen there are a lot of complaints, even though its a 12 inch saw, it can only do vertical cuts up to 4.5 inches.

Cons for a 12 incher as well is saws are much pricier and the inability of interchanging saws with table saws for example since these mostly use 10" saws.

I have a few projects on hand for this summer such as building a deck in my house and also a pergola and a 40-50 foot fence.

With this in mind ... what would you guys think would be the better/wiser choise? Any input is appreciated!

thanks

-

J Boogie

• Handlebar Stache
Re: which miter saw to get?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2016, 09:35:08 AM »
I have a dewalt 12" compound miter saw (not sliding).  I got it for $150 or so on Craigslist.