Author Topic: Which city to start a tech career? Portland/Seattle/Austin  (Read 5551 times)

Ricky

• Pencil Stache
Which city to start a tech career? Portland/Seattle/Austin
« on: March 25, 2016, 01:49:51 PM »
I graduated a few years ago (I'll turn 26 in a few days) but didn't move into a "career" type position because I was working a job where my boss was very good to me and I had finished everything online, was living at home, and just genuinely had no reason to push forward. I quit that job about 8 months ago. I wanted to buy a house near home so that I'd have a place to come "home" to and be near family and still say sane, which I have accomplished, but it's time to move on. The house will pay for itself and I can focus on a career elsewhere.

I'm wanting to start out as a System/Business/Quality Analyst or Help Desk role until I can work my way up. Degree is in MIS. Nothing like this in my area. And if there is it's extremely low pay and no room for growth.

I've narrowed it down to these three as I visited them all last year and Portland was where I really fell in love. Great biking culture, growing, lots of young people, etc.  I'm closer to Raleigh and know it's got everything I'd want career-wise but really dislike Raleigh for the weather/area and want to be near nature/outdoors.

I'm leaning towards Portland but have always heard it gets a negative rep for lack of jobs and too many "retired millennials" competing for menial jobs. I'm not necessarily interested in menial jobs but I may have to take what I can get before I can get my foot in the door.