Author Topic: Where would you retire to?  (Read 23621 times)

PRNmeds

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Where would you retire to?
« on: January 12, 2015, 12:00:31 AM »
Mustachians,

I am a California resident, but have recently been playing with the idea of moving out of this great state when it comes to retire. My wife and I are 28 years old and are currently nestled in Boulder Creek, CA. Boulder Creek is interesting in that it is very inexpensive compared to the bay area, but requires bicycle commuting to get most places. (Especially work). We are both nurses, and are able to save money rather quickly by being able to earn SF bay area nursing wages. (Highest wages for Nurses in the Country). Here's the quick and dirty:

We take home roughly 150,000 annually after taxes.
Live on about 50,000 a year

Mortgage: 88,000 left to go (goal: pay off in 2015)
2 Cars: paid off
No student loans/credit card debt.

We are flirting with the idea of paying off the Mortgage and then saving up all our cash for several years afterward, selling our home and buying something outright in a different location and then retiring. Our home (condo, 980 sqft) could sell for around 300,000. So my question is this: where would you retire to? We are "California people" but are interested in the Pacific Northwest as well. My wife likes the idea of Seattle, I am interested in Portland. Is this kind of thinking sound? California is so very expensive, is it common to make all your money in a place like California, then move somewhere else? Thoughts? Concerns? Snide Remarks? Thank you, Mustachians. 

Villanelle

• Walrus Stache
Re: Where would you retire to?
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2015, 03:51:44 AM »