Author Topic: I want to try growing a stache.  (Read 11367 times)

adroit

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I want to try growing a stache.
« on: June 20, 2012, 02:08:48 PM »
Hey there,

I've been reading the blog for a couple of days now and I'm hooked. I want to take the plunge but I think I need a little hand holding (or punch to the face) to get started. Here are some details about my current status:

My wife and I are both 26. My wife is a 3rd grade teacher and I'm a software engineer.
We live in Rosengberg, TX, which is a ~30-40 minutes southwest of downtown Houston.
Our combined annual gross income is $136,000.
We are expecting our first child in late November and my wife will work until next June and then be a stay at home mom. At that point, our AGI will be $90,000 (I will probably get a raise, but when planning, I assume the worst).
Bought a house last May: 3br, 2100 sqft at $180,000 and we owe ~$141,000. Mortgage, property taxes and insurance come to ~$1140/mo.
Cash savings: $30,000. About $3000 is designated for hospital costs for when the baby comes, as that is what our deductible is. We'll save about another $1500 to offset some of the initial costs of the baby.
Investments: About $57,500 in my wife's 403b. I didn't have a 401k with my previous job and started a new one this past January. A 401k just became available last month, but they do not do any matching.
I drive a 2004 Nissan Maxima (115,000 miles) and my wife drives a 2005 Hyundai Santa Fe (92,000 miles). Both are running fine and get over 20mpg (I know, not ideal, but not terrible).

Average monthly expenditures
House payments: $1140
Utilities (gas, electricity, water): $200
Gasoline: $550
Cell phone: $171 (2 iphones)
Cable & internet: $130
Car insurance: $100
Food + drinks: $1200 (this will be the first thing to tackle)
Vacation: $250
Shopping (clothes, makeup, gifts for large extended families): $600 (this will be the second thing to tackle).
Gym memberships: $50