Author Topic: Where to put your money: Save for a House or Invest?  (Read 3234 times)

slp

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Where to put your money: Save for a House or Invest?
« on: May 17, 2013, 12:17:08 PM »
MMM and readers,

So what do I do now?
I’ve been reading for a while and have been living my version of mustachianism for a while. -Bike to work, fix old things and sell them, cheap housing, car paid for that usually sits etc.
I graduated college in December 2012 with a German degree. Needless to say, there aren’t many jobs needing my skills at the moment. I took a job at a tech company leading corporate and client trainings for their software. My wife is still in school and works part-time. When she finishes, we both will have completed Master’s degrees without accruing debt.
My salary is 28k per year. Right now, we save about 50% of that. We have around 30k in liquid assets. In the future, I’d obviously like to buy a house, but I also have no 401K (company does not have the option) or investments for retirement.
This brings me back to my opening question. So what do I do now? Should I save for a down payment on a house or should I invest some and save most? Any suggestions are appreciated.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2013, 01:34:22 PM by slp »

Sri C.

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Where to put your money: Save for a House or Invest?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2013, 01:56:21 PM »
What's your location? Do you carry health insurance?

D-T

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2013, 08:09:07 PM »
It's really up to you.  What do you value?

If I were you I'd definitely get a Roth IRA started before even thinking about saving for a home.

My husband and I had to make a similar choice. We decided to give our retirement portfolio more time to accumulate and grow rather than rushing into a home.

slp

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2013, 03:10:37 PM »
I live in Provo UT right now, but have no intention of staying there. I'd like to move to Pennsylvania eventually.