Author Topic: Where to put a large windfall with stock market near all-time highs?  (Read 4155 times)

dudermcgee

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi All,
I'm new to this early retirement movement, but it has me very excited. I'm 34, and my wife is 33. We recently sold a business and now have cash well into the 6-figures. We have some concern with putting the money into the market via Vanguard index funds that are near all-time highs. I know it doesn't make sense "time the market," but at the same time, I've used the F.I.R.E calc simulator and investing in the "wrong" year can really hurt early retirement plans.

I'm curious what people might recommend. Thanks in advance for any insights or recommendations.

DuderMcgee

Exflyboy

• Walrus Stache
  • Expat Brit living in the New World..:)
Re: Where to put a large windfall with stock market near all-time highs?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2015, 12:21:48 PM »
Well what is your time horizon.. do you think the market will be higher in say 10 or 20 years?

What makes you think it won't go higher next year?

OK that's the logic out of the way.

How about this, wait for the interest rate hike (next week?) then invest at 75% stocks and 25% bonds.

If the market tanks, your bonds will go up (probably) and you can roll that bond money when the market has fallen to where you think you might be closer to the bottom.. If the market continues to rise.. well you lost some gains but you won't lose money.

matchewed

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2015, 12:22:14 PM »
If you're worried about a sudden crash then you DCA (dollar cost average) the money. But just an FYI lump sum beats DCA usually.

And for the record craft an Investment Policy Statement http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Investment_policy_statement which will guide you in the how to invest any sort of money that comes your way, windfall or not.

dudermcgee

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2015, 12:31:04 PM »