Author Topic: Where to go from here - SIMPLE IRA, HSA, Roth conversion  (Read 810 times)

brandino29

• Bristles
Where to go from here - SIMPLE IRA, HSA, Roth conversion
« on: March 05, 2021, 09:22:33 AM »
Hey MMM gang,

I'm in need of some help clarifying my retirement options moving forward with some big life changes coming up. The quick overview is that I am a medical resident finishing my residency in 4 months when I'll be going from total compensation of ~$60,000 to ~$240,000 overnight. I've been procrastinating some money moves I need to make but I'm not clear yet on what exactly I need to do.

Primarily I have three issues I need to figure out - what to do with my small HSA, funding a new Roth, and what to do with a previous SIMPLE IRA.

First and simplest I think is the HSA - I'm married and have 3 kids but they're currently insured through my wife's job while I have a HDHP at my current position. I've been contributing only a modest amount to the HSA over the past few years and currently have $1,980 in the account - it's not even met the plan threshold of $2k to transfer to an investment option so it's sitting in cash right now. There are expense fees of $2.50/month so I'm literally losing value in this thing right now though after the next paycheck when it exceeds $2,000 it should dump all of that into VFIAX.  With my new employer I am going to have full coverage health insurance for my family paid for entirely by my employer so I will no longer qualify for an HSA. I'm wondering if I should just withdraw this money now and take the relatively small tax hit this year. My biggest fear if I leave this account open I'll forget of its existence over the years to come. As I see it here - 2 options - 1) leave it be, let it grow, make sure not to forget about it, use it as needed for medical expenses or b) withdraw it now and dump it into some other account.