Author Topic: Where to do a probably-short-term stache  (Read 4251 times)

I_shave_my_stache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Where to do a probably-short-term stache
« on: February 04, 2015, 01:05:32 PM »
Hello beautiful people!

I graduated from undergrad last year, and will have spent the '14-'15 academic year in a graduate program in the sciences that isn't getting me anywhere jobwise. I am switching into an MS Engineering program which will last 2 years and leave me with a good chance of a $75,000/yr job. I was lucky enough to receive funding in exchange for teaching undergrads this year, and one of the possible MS programs seems like it might let me get a similar deal. During these two years, I will hopefully get internships with companies, which may or may not be paid, and may or may not require a car.
I want to invest this money in a way that I can withdraw it relatively easily at any point over the next 2 years, in the event that I go without pay for a summer/semester or need to buy a car.
The numbers:
Current pay/spending rate: I save about $1300 per month. Pay cuts out on May 15th, and will hopefully be replaced with a paid summer internship or regular summer job.
Current assets: $6700 in a checking account.
TLDR: I am a graduate student, and I'm about to go through some transitions in where I live etc. I currently have some freed-up money and no hair-on-fire debts, but the money I have may need to be withdrawn at an unknown point over the next 2 years. I'd like some advice on how to go about investing/saving my surplus money where I could cash it with ~1 month warning.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2015, 04:36:57 PM by I_shave_my_stache »

Cwadda

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Where to do a probably-short-term stache
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2015, 01:15:52 PM »
A Roth IRA allows you to contribute up to $5500 per year. You can withdraw contributions freely without penalty or taxes, but if you withdraw anything that it gains, you will be penalized and taxed.