Author Topic: When to move out of my parents' house?  (Read 6143 times)

mrnovember09

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
When to move out of my parents' house?
« on: August 06, 2015, 08:18:52 AM »
Hi fellow mustachians.

I'm a recent college grad working a desk job and living at home. I was an English major, so my salary is only 30k (happy to have a job right after college though). Currently the only main expenses I have are insurance/phone bill ($150 a month), and my gas (roughly $150 a month). I just bought a cheap, used car, but my commute is 30 minutes to and 60 minutes back with traffic, and my car guzzles gas. After taxes I only take home around $1700 a month. I have roughly $8000 in savings, and with taxes, I can afford to save at least $1000 a month while living at home. Still though, I don't have many expenses.

My parents are fine with me living at home, and we get along well, but still, I'm itching for independence. My current plan is to at least live at home until the end of 2015, and then try to move somewhere closer to my job and to my girlfriend's school (thus making the commute roughly 15 minutes each way). However, this is an expensive area. Even with roommates (most of my friends have moved away so I'd have to live with strangers) I should still expect to pay more than 30% of my take-home income not even including utilities.

My cost of living is pretty low; I don't go out on expensive binges, I don't have a ton of clothes, I get most of my entertainment online, I don't drink coffee or soda, etc. My only vices are $10 a month for Spotify (I'm a music junkie) and a love of building a book collection (I'm in the process of building my own bookshelf).