Author Topic: When should we (my family of 5) move out of my Dad's basement?  (Read 8828 times)

drewnobi

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
When should we (my family of 5) move out of my Dad's basement?
« on: February 25, 2015, 11:16:49 AM »
I've been stalking the MMM site for a while and I thought I would ask the forums about my situation. Here is a step by step recap:

Lost my job about 2 years ago (I was a college professor).
Didn't pursue a national search (I am in a field with very few jobs).
Wanted to be closer to my parents (mom is in a nursing home, dad is all alone in a huge house).
Moved my family (wife, 3 small kids) into my father's 1500 sq ft basement in his suburban home.
2013-2014 school year, I worked a tutoring/teaching job in hopes of transitioning into K-12 education (very low pay).
Ended up landing a higher ed support job for $65K/year, started in August 2014.
Wife does not work outside of the house.
Still living with Dad, interpersonal situation is fine, space situation is fine, 40 mile round trip commute not so good.

Dad is not charging us rent, so we are paying $1000-$1500 a month onto about $22k in CC debt, we have $1000 in savings. Starting in May, we have agreed to pay Dad $400/month to cover expenses, which will give us $1100 or so each month to save/pay down debt.

Our plan is to buy a house in the Summer of 2016 (~15 months from now). Once we get down to just one credit card (probably May of this year) we were going to start splitting between saving and paying down the card, combining the savings with next year's tax return for a hopeful $10,000-$15,000 down payment.