Author Topic: When is a CPA "worth it"?  (Read 1713 times)

ginger

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
When is a CPA "worth it"?
« on: February 03, 2018, 08:55:52 AM »
With all apologies to CPAs on the board!

My question is: if you use a CPA, what about your circumstances did you consider when making that choice? If you previously used one and stopped, what factored in to your decision?

I've always done my own taxes, including after I got married three years ago. I don't mind doing them because, you know, badassity - why pay someone if I can learn to do the task for myself?

My husband and I are in a different position this year, though. We're earning a ton more (I finished a PhD last summer and am on the tenure track; he's now among the senior management in his own career), we just bought a house, etc. We've always been MMM-inclined and have no debt, have maxed out retirement accounts even when I was pulling in a grad school stipend, have a couple of taxable accounts, a few side hustles, etc.

I wonder if I know enough about the tax code to max out every available opportunity, and whether it's worth my time now to learn it. I've been digging around for the answers to some of my tax questions, but part of me thinks that I'd sleep easier knowing that an 'authority' validated or corrected my findings. ...But spending money when I could do it for myself would cause its own consternation.

Here are some of the things that make the situation seem "complicated" enough to make me wonder if a professional is worth it.

1. We're earning ~$60k more than we did last year.
2. We bought a house in the town where my employer is located, as first-time home buyers.