Author Topic: What would you try to teach disadvantaged teenagers about finances?  (Read 2925 times)

Mr Mark

• Handlebar Stache
  • Achieved Financial Independence summer 2014. RE'18
One of the many things I'd like to do post fire is hold a pro-bono 3hr session for some of the local high schools on finance and basic financial literacy.

What suggestions does the community have for what to include in such a course? Parents too?

Obviously I already have some ideas and FWIW I'm a professional instructor / adult educator.

Michael in ABQ

• Magnum Stache
Re: What would you try to teach disadvantaged teenagers about finances?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2017, 01:11:25 PM »
If you can teach them simply not to borrow money to buy vehicles you will probably save them $500,000 - $1,000,000 over their lifetime.

The power of compound interest.

Live within/below your means.

Invest in the stock market, preferably with broad based index funds.

nawhite

• Handlebar Stache
    • The Reckless Choice
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2017, 01:15:42 PM »
You should volunteer with Junior Achievement: https://www.juniorachievement.org/web/ja-usa/ja-programs?p_p_id=56_INSTANCE_abcd&p_p_lifecycle=0&p_p_state=maximized&p_p_mode=view&p_p_col_id=ja-maincontent&p_p_col_count=1&_56_INSTANCE_abcd_groupId=14516&_56_INSTANCE_abcd_articleId=19571

That is their "Personal Finance" course for 9-12th graders and when I taught it 5 years ago, it was fantastic. The curriculum is great, the materials make it easy to work with people with different learning styles and you have the classroom teacher to help out with any issues you see.

No reason to re-invent the wheel.

Jaida

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2017, 01:20:56 PM »