Author Topic: What Would You Do In My Financial Situation?  (Read 9229 times)

Jwilliamson22

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What Would You Do In My Financial Situation?
« on: September 22, 2013, 12:57:02 PM »
So I feel like my life has a lot of moving pieces right now. I have an idea what I want to do moving forward, but wanted the great advise of you fine ladies and gents. My fiancé and I are both 25yrs old and we are getting married in November. I am a full time graduate student (graduate with MBA in May) as well as work full time and have a rental property. My fiancé isn't as financial savvy as I, but is quickly learning and enjoying the benefits. We have already started her 401k and about to start her Roth IRA.  My situation:

Net Income Him- 2500 after 401k (plus monthly bonus of 500-2000, but I budget for 2500)
Net Income Her- 2000 after 401k
Rental- 550 (I dont include this as income bc it essentially breaks even which is why I put $50 for our housing expense. It is a duplex and we live in one side and rent the other)

Cash Accounts
Emergency Fund - 6000 (ING/CapitalOne 360)
Standard Savings - 5500 (ING/CapitalOne 360)
Checking - 1000 (Chase Bank)
Rental Business Checking - 1700 (Chase Bank)
Safety Deposit Box - 500 (Random savings bond, silver, etc)

Investments Accounts
Roth 401k Him - 9000 (6% of income, 5% company match)
Traditional 401k Her - 1300 (6% of income, 6% company match)
Roth IRA Him - 6000 (Dollar cost averaging weekly into it at a rate to max out)
Roth IRA Her - 0 (about to open)

Debt
Student Loans Her - 7000
CC - 0
Auto Loan Him - 9600 @ 1.49%
Auto Loan Her - 9900 @ 1.5%
Mortgage - 65000 @ 3.75%

Monthly Budget
Tithe: 450
Housing: 50
Electric: 90 (FL A/C)
Water: 25
Restaurants: 100
Groceries: 350
Car Ins: 125
Car Payments: 380
Gas: 200
Clothes: 40
Daycare: 152
Pocket Money/Personal Spending: 100mo (50 each)
Comcast: 15
Phones: 90 (both on straight talk)
Life Ins: 40
LT Disability Ins Him: 20
Total: 2,227
Extra: 2,273