Author Topic: What winter gear do I need?  (Read 6408 times)

chongc

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What winter gear do I need?
« on: July 03, 2017, 07:32:00 AM »
Hi everyone,

I'm an international student headed to Maine for college.
I currently live near to the equator so I have next to no winter gear.

Is there anyone who is familiar with the climate in Maine (well almost every part of the US has a climate that's closer to Maine than my home climate) who will be able to share on what kind of gear will be suitable for the temperate climate?
Places where gear is good value around the area (or amazon) would be great as well.

Thanks!

sokoloff

• Handlebar Stache
Re: What winter gear do I need?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2017, 08:05:42 AM »
To survive on campus and in town, you want to be familiar with the concept of layers to stay warm, buy any winter coat (I live 50 miles south of Maine and I wear an insulated leather jacket on most of the coldest days, with an insulated overalls that I wear only for snow shoveling and blowing).

The key to comfort is less about the jacket and more about the head cover (knit ski hat), hand cover (gloves), a scarf, and good footwear.

If you're going for the full school year, you can arrive with nothing and pick everything up locally as needed. There is LLBean (which is expensive but high quality in general), but you'll also no doubt find a secondhand store that will have what you need. I wouldn't try to prepare ahead of the season, especially out of season and out of location. It will be probably be cheaper and easier to show up in September unprepared for the teeth of winter and figure it out up here/there. If you were starting in January, maybe a different story.