Author Topic: What were your toughest challenges saving money  (Read 3700 times)

jvincent

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What were your toughest challenges saving money
« on: June 05, 2018, 09:23:12 PM »
My first post here. Really like the idea of high savings rate for early possible retirement.

I'm new to all this so I would like to get an idea of what were some of the challenges that you guys faced when starting off?

Right now I live a pretty modest to high-end lifestyle with bits of frugality mixed in (my car is a 2006!, which I really love btw).

Recently been thinking about downsizing and living frugally, hoping to save 60-70% of income eventually. And any tips starting off? Should I just dive in or is it a more gradual process?

Would love to get feedback from veterans whose been through many years of this already ahead of me. Thanks folks!

ixtap

• Magnum Stache
    • Our Sea Story
Re: What were your toughest challenges saving money
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2018, 09:26:17 PM »
It really depends on you and what your big expenses currently are.

Housing tends to be a large percentage of expenses. What are your current expenses? How much trouble would it be to disentangle yourself? Are you interested in having a roommate to mitigate housing costs?

If you want feedback, you could post a case study.

UniversityEmployee9

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2018, 09:42:54 PM »
Do you have any non-mortgage debt?

When would you like to reach FIRE?

ambimammular

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2018, 06:46:28 AM »
The challenges have changed as I've aged. In our college years DH and I ate out with friends often. Loans were deferred, so we had few expenses and could have been stashing all those easy dollars.

After we got a house Home Depot got a lot of our extra spending money.