Author Topic: What to do with very low interest debt  (Read 5196 times)

bjack2

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What to do with very low interest debt
« on: May 08, 2014, 12:50:41 PM »
Hello
A pre-emptive thank you to the moustachians that answer this.  I am very new to all of this but completely obsessed with the blog and my wife and I are on board with moving our lives toward moustachianism.  Here is our situation:  Other than our mortgage (after reading this blog we refinanced to a 15 year at 3.6% and thus have saved ourself 125K!!!) the only debt we have is my medical school debt.  The good news is I locked it in at 2.6% when I finished school 9 years ago.  We have no other debt, relatively high salaries, and our lifestyle was pretty frugal to begin with but getting better with each MMM blog post.  I love my job (3 days / week) and never want to work more or less until I get too old to make good decisions for my patients.  I spend the other 4 days of the week hanging with my two young kids, playing guitar, homebrewing, etc.  My wife is in academic medicine and works more but also loves her job and so early retirement isnt really something we ever want to do.  I understand the psychological advantage of not having to work so we are speding less, investing more, etc.  My question is should I try and pay off the low interest debt (currently 89K with 20 more years on the loan).  Conventional wisdom says invest because any extra money will grow at a greater rate than our current loan interest rate.  Thoughts?  Thanks,
Ben
ps - My wife just cut my hair with a UMGD and it looks money.  Cant believe I have been spending 25 bucks a month on that!!!

nawhite

• Handlebar Stache
    • The Reckless Choice
Re: What to do with very low interest debt
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2014, 01:05:53 PM »
The math looks like this