Author Topic: What to do with current antimustachian vehicle?  (Read 6303 times)

bprmp

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What to do with current antimustachian vehicle?
« on: August 28, 2013, 01:14:33 PM »
First post! I graduated from college in May and thankfully found this blog shortly thereafter. Big financial changes are underway.

Here's my situation:

I have a truck with a current KBB value of $21k.
I still owe $13.5k

This truck is currently costing me $800 per month in note/gas/insurance. The good news is I will get a company provided vehicle/gas card within 6 months and plan to sell the truck at that time. In the meantime, what can I do cut some of the cost besides bike to work? (I live too far: 18 miles)

Should I hang tight until I get the company vehicle? Should I sell the truck now and get a more cost effective vehicle until I eventually sell that vehicle too? I really just want to avoid the estimated $5k I'll spend driving this thing 6 more months.

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
Re: What to do with current antimustachian vehicle?
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2013, 01:27:38 PM »

question:  When you get the company vehicle and sell the truck... will you also be buying a replacement personal vehicle?  I don't know your situation or the policies in personal use of the company car. 

If you are planning on REPLACING the truck in 6 months (with a more economical car) -- I'd just do that now.

If you are planning on using the company car exclusively...  I might just wait it out.   But: I tend to seriously over analyze things when I buy something big.  If I started looking for a car right now, it would probably take me 3-4 months to find it.

bprmp

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2013, 01:30:54 PM »
No replacements. The company vehicle will be mine to do as I please.

Mega

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2013, 08:01:52 AM »
Watch out for the tax implications of personal use of a business vehicle.

MountainFlower

• Bristles