Author Topic: What to do with college money on the table?  (Read 8139 times)

panda

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What to do with college money on the table?
« on: May 23, 2014, 07:32:00 AM »
DELETED
« Last Edit: December 15, 2017, 10:13:04 AM by panda »

Cpa Cat

• Handlebar Stache
Re: What to do with college money on the table?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2014, 08:08:38 AM »
I know from experience that a Masters of Accounting + IT background is a good combination. There is a lot of demand for that in accounting firms. It has some really solid career potential in a field that transitions well to self-employment/consulting.

I have no personal experience with a Masters of Finance, but I suspect that it's also a solid choice with the same sort of potential.

The MBA is more generic and if you have the option to do one of the other two, I don't see the benefit. But it may require less shoring up of prereqs than Accounting/Finance, since you're coming from a different background.

In the case of the MAcc or MF, make sure you discuss your plans with an advisor in the department. This is especially important for people coming at it from a non-business degree background. You may find that they can exempt you from undergrad requirements and tailor your study toward your interests.

I like business-school Masters degrees for non-trads because the schools tend to be more focussed on getting you out and into the world than Liberal Arts colleges. Business school admins tend to waste your time less than Liberal Arts admins because Business Schools hire fewer lifelong academics.

frugally

• Stubble
    • Welcome to the Woods
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2014, 02:54:48 PM »