Author Topic: What to do in an adverse financial situation?  (Read 2480 times)

stratozyck

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What to do in an adverse financial situation?
« on: May 01, 2018, 07:26:04 AM »
I see so much on here about basically "ok I have more inflows than outflows, what to do with it and how to decrease my outflows?"

But what about in a "minor in the big picture" but still adverse situation? I am not really asking specifics for my life but are there posts on here or guides on how to handle a "outflows higher than inflows" situation?

I have been working in a decent career job for 4 years. I graduated with 60k in debt (now down to 43) and since graduating got married and had two kids. Long story short, we ended up with a 2nd house we are renting out. The gains are all in equity while annually it is a net cash outflow. In short, we can't afford to sell it, but it is also costing us money (and thus making us less likely to be able to sell it).  It would be nice to hold on to it for 1-2 more years because I do think we could make our losses back and end up with 20-30k after tax.

But man, in the two years we have had that rental house we have also had unexpected bill after unexpected bill. In short, right now we are about 11k in credit card debt. All of the credit card debt is 0% interest until June 2019. On a pure assets - debt we are positive (because of 401k and 4k savings). But what keeps me up at night is knowing that a year ago - we were also 11k in credit card debt at 0% interest for a year. Every time I pay it to near zero another 5k-6k expense comes up.

So, what I am asking in specific is:

1) What is the best way to manage medium term debt that will be around for 1-3 years? I know the obvious is "spend less and pay it off faster!" The demoralizing part is not being able to pay it down - its that every time I get near zero (say, 3-4k left) another huge expense comes in.