Author Topic: What temp do you keep your houses?  (Read 8227 times)

eav

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What temp do you keep your houses?
« on: October 16, 2018, 11:38:39 PM »
Hi all!

Just looking to get a general pulse on what temp the community keeps their Heat on in the colder months and A.C. in the warmer months. I am new to living on my own (and paying the utilities that come along with it) so trying to see the norm!

We've been doing 65 (live in Northeast) but the upstairs is FRIGID (goes against my understanding of heat rising) so I may bump it up a degree.

In the brief time we lived here in hot weather we kept it off for as long as possible, then set AC to 77/78 - I think having ceiling fans in main rooms is the only way i pulled this off. Electric bill was still 90 bucks :(

Let me know!

Cranky

• Magnum Stache
Re: What temp do you keep your houses?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2018, 05:12:15 AM »
In the winter my house (I’ve just got the one!) is 67° in the day and 62° at night.

In the summer, we keep it at 78° one the outside temps are in the mid-80s. We do run the ceiling fans and I find it quite pleasant, but I’d rather be warm than cold.

A/C sucks up a lot of electric and if your bill was only $90 for a house big enough for an upstairs, you are lucky.

My advice for winter is - dress warmly and get some flannel sheets. Once it gets really cold, I wear a wool hat around the house, and fingerless mittens.

El Jacinto

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2018, 05:13:32 AM »
If I had my way, I wouldn't use the heat at all in the winter, unless inside temperature dropped below 40o F. After all, I can always throw on layers and be just fine. However, my wife is there to keep my insanity in check, so we usually go with around 65o F in the winter.

terran

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2018, 05:39:14 AM »