Author Topic: What strategies and attitudes were most helpful to you when you quit?  (Read 2182 times)

Trudie

• Handlebar Stache
My husband and I have determined that we have "FU" money, and so I plan to leave a job I've been at for ten years this spring.  In doing so I will be giving up a 45-minute (each way) commute, a job that is no-longer satisfying, a job that is a time suck on the rest of my life, and a job that is not contributing to my health (desk job, back pain, etc.)  I will also be shutting off the firehose of cash that comes with it which -- frankly -- has been my reason for staying with it up to this point.  I am a finance/accounting manager for a small company.

I'm curious about specific strategies (money-saving, emotional, personal development) others have used to successfully make the transition?  What did you do to thrive from the change?

In addition, I'm not convinced that my working days are completely over because -- health insurance.  But, for now, my husband has a professional job as a college administrator and has benefits.

aperture

• Bristles
Re: What strategies and attitudes were most helpful to you when you quit?
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2017, 06:59:33 AM »
Trudie, I am in similar boat as you and am partly posting to follow, but I also want to turn you onto this blog if you are not familiar:https://ournextlife.com/.  Tanja is truly a great thinker/planner in this space and I have enjoyed her articles dealing with future FIRE life.  Best wishes, aperture.

edit: spelling
« Last Edit: October 29, 2017, 07:57:38 AM by aperture »

SwordGuy

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2017, 09:43:54 AM »
Having FU money just means you can afford to not have a bad job for awhile.

It certainly does not mean you don't have to work again, that would be FI money.

So, what are you going to be doing while your spouse goes to work each day?

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!