Author Topic: What Stocks to Buy For Traditional IRA- New to Investing  (Read 3180 times)

frugalFIRE

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What Stocks to Buy For Traditional IRA- New to Investing
« on: March 14, 2016, 12:20:06 PM »
Hi all!

I'm a year into my journey to FIRE. I'm 28 and want to retire by 43. I make $35,000 annually, but I'm working on increasing that. I'm debt free, own a small car and live well below my means.

Last year was the first year I funded my Vanguard Traditional IRA. I maxed it out, and put all the money into a 2028 Target Retirement account.

I'm looking for advice on what kind of stocks I should be buying moving forward. I plan to convert this account to a Roth down the road. Should I just buy a ton of Vanguard's Total Stock Market Index? Should I continue to buy a target retirement fund? And if so, it should be the year I will actually access the money right, not the year I reach FIRE? I'm worried I already made a mistake with my account!

I'm just a total beginner and have no idea what direction to move in. I have $3,000 at the ready to invest. I don't want to make a dumb move. What stocks are good for IRA's?

I'm going to max my IRA again this year, and then plan to save and invest another $5,500. Any recommendations for that money?

Thanks!

Tjat

• Pencil Stache
Re: What Stocks to Buy For Traditional IRA- New to Investing
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2016, 12:23:55 PM »
http://jlcollinsnh.com/stock-series/

Read that link first. To specifically answer your question of IRAs, you should first determine your target asset allocation (stocks, bonds, REITs, International) etc and put the tax inefficient investments into IRAs. I have my rIRA money in REITs and VTSAX.

At your income, I would solely contribute to Roths as they are post-tax.