Author Topic: What small things did you do TODAY to save money?  (Read 8020626 times)

MaybeBabyMustache

• Walrus Stache
    • My Wild Ride to FI
Re: What small things did you do TODAY to save money?
« Reply #9900 on: November 05, 2017, 08:50:39 AM »
Actively managed my travel rewards (hotel + airline) on my business trip, and will convert all of that into a free flight on my preferred domestic airline. I currently have platinum hotel status, which generates additional points bonuses. Trying to take advantage while I can.

I got in from my work trip yesterday afternoon & was incredibly jet lagged. Convinced my husband to pick up a prepared lasagna from Costco, vs all of us going out. Saved a good $30.

Mele

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #9901 on: November 05, 2017, 02:46:16 PM »
I've been reading this thread for probably 2 years without ever bothering to register and start commenting.  I find everyone's everyday ideas so inspiring!  I'm a teacher, and this fall, I found myself in an untenable situation at my school.  Thus, after this school year, I will quit one half-time job and start scrapping together (hopefully) equivalent income via some online teaching and a lot of eBay.

We're still about 7 years short of our FIRE date, and I don't want to lose our steam, so I'm super dedicated to continuing to be Mustache-y.  I need to really push myself to boost our earnings this year, and I want to continue to trim our expenses as much as possible.

What did I do today to save money?  Well, it's National Guard drill for my husband, and on those weekends, the kids and I stay home and watch church via live stream.  Then we hang out and do household chores and projects. 

--Today I went for a rainy walk, gathered pop cans to sell to the metal man, gathered pine cones to make kindle cones with left-over candle wax. 
--I hung 2 loads of laundry