Author Topic: What should we learn?  (Read 5475 times)

emily2244

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What should we learn?
« on: October 16, 2012, 08:46:40 AM »
I have a frugal friend (another Mom) and we want to learn a hobby together that has potential to be profitable. We are thinking of learning some computer skills. Any ideas for what we should learn/where to begin? I am interested in programming and have dabbled a little... Would that have any potential? Any ideas would be appreciated!

Use it up, wear it out...

• Stubble
Re: What should we learn?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2012, 08:54:16 AM »
Re: programming - a great place to get started is codeacademy.com

They have free online lessons in basic java, and now python. I've taken them (I studied programming in school years ago, never really used it in my career) and found them to be quite good.

They're not enough to get you to a job, but will let you dip your toes and see how you like it, while learning something actually useful.

If you want to go much deeper, MIT offers free online courses, you may find something there. I'd recommend starting with codeacademy.

http://ocw.mit.edu

Aloysius_Poutine

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2012, 08:55:50 AM »
http://www.computerscienceforeveryone.com also has some good and easy to follow videos. They start with the very basics and work up from there.

Jack

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2012, 09:04:32 AM »
coursera.org has free college-style (including homework and tests with due dates) classes in programming as well as many other topics. It may even have enough programming classes by now to string together a whole CS degree program (although you won't actually get college credit).

Donovan

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2012, 09:53:51 AM »
Another option would be to study the Design side of applications. For example, studying HTML and CSS with an eye towards being a designer.