Author Topic: What should I do next?  (Read 3525 times)

Raislin

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What should I do next?
« on: March 27, 2015, 03:16:13 PM »
Hi, all!  First real post here.  I'm just getting started on working toward future goals with my wife.  I'm 26 and she's 20, so we're both young.  I have a lot swirling around in my head and I'm hoping that getting it out and hearing some opinions will calm me down so I can focus a bit.  Here are some good changes that have taken place lately:

- We got a much larger tax return than expected -- exactly enough to pay the upside down difference on my 2014 Accord (some leftover from previous car, too) and I sold that.
                      $430 payment + ~$25 property taxes saved per month.
- Based on our cell phone habits and desires -- we decided to drop Verizon in favor of Republic Wireless.
                      $130 saved per month.
- We purchased bicycles -- One for me to replace the car, and one for her for recreation and potentially for commuting to work. I do all errands and shopping on my bike. 
                      ~$50 on gas saved per month
- Reeling in our food budget -- We both work at restaurants.  Her meals are free, but mine aren't.  Planning a pack-a-lunch plan and cooking (frozen) meals in advance that are delicious, but cheap.
                      slashes our current ~$300 spending to a $150 budget per month if successful
- Dropping the sold car from insurance and switched providers.
                       A whopping $180 per month in savings.

Excluding the decision to take Republic Wireless over a land line, all of this was planned or done before I even discovered this forum or blog, so I'm pretty proud of that.  We don't make a whole lot of money, and neither of us have degrees yet, but we went from barely getting by to having a lot more flexibility.  What we have left, debt-wise:

- 2009 sedan: $130 monthly, ~$4500 remaining balance
- Kay Credit Card: $125 monthly, $884 remaining balance, 5% APR