Author Topic: What salary range should I accept/aim for post-COVID layoff to keep on FIRE path  (Read 2808 times)

bayareasaver

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Saving while single
Hi Savers,
My last day at my job, thanks to a COVID-19 layoff, was Friday. I have 6 week's severance pay and I live in Wellington, New Zealand. I have been a Salesforce Consultant for 10 years and I have my MBA but would really like to switch to either: a) not being a consultant and working instead at a customer (client) company if I keep doing Salesforce, or b) switch roles and become a business analyst or program manager at some sort of IT company.
My question is: given I was receiving a high salary for New Zealand of $140,000NZD/year, but was laid off, and the job market is terrible, what should I give as my new salary range and/or what salary should I be willing to accept to keep on my FIRE path?
Basically I'm trying to decide, before I am faced with the decision, whether I should accept as much as a 25% salary reduction.
Further questions are:
- Is it better to get a job sooner at a lower rate than I might otherwise accept in a better economy, just to be assured of a job?
- How much will this damage my earning potential in the long run, say if I keep a job for 2 years at this 'discounted' rate?
- Would I ever be able to ask for a significant raise, or would I be doomed to 3-5% raises (if that)?
- How can I find out what a company's ranges for this position might be before they ask me for my range? I know a couple of people who work at the company but I don't want to offend people by having them think I'm asking them what their salary is and I certainly don't want to burn bridges before I start working at one of the only places that might offer me a job.         
Thanks for any advice or suggestions!

mozar

• Magnum Stache