Author Topic: What is the magic pay down your mortgage rate?  (Read 32526 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: What is the magic pay down your mortgage rate?
« Reply #50 on: January 07, 2015, 01:51:55 PM »
Gotcha.  Something's off in that math for sure, looks like something got weird when they tried to overcomplicate it.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

frugaldrummer

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #51 on: January 07, 2015, 02:52:46 PM »
Seems to me, 2 crucial items keep getting left out of most of these analyses:

1) Taxes - if you're in a high tax bracket, the value of paying off a mortgage early may be less than it is for someone in a low tax bracket.  Essentially, if two people have the same mortgage but one person's income is so low that they pay 0% in income taxes, and the other person has a high income and gets a 35% tax break on the mortgage interest, the low-income person has a better benefit from paying the loan off early.  For a mortgage payment of $1,000 a month with 900 of that as interest, the low-income person pays $1,000, but the high-income person only pays $700 (because of their tax break).