Author Topic: What if there's no tax?  (Read 3232 times)

Islander973

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What if there's no tax?
« on: August 19, 2019, 07:30:15 AM »
Hey guys..

Perhaps it's a stretch, but I thought I'd present my situation. Care to offer your 2 cents?

Also - I'm based in the Middle East and we don't have tax here. I am completely tax illiterate. I also wont get pension since I'm on an international contract.

Scenario:

Me: Male 38, married. Wife is a homemaker with a small side business. 1 daughter 1.5 years old.

Job:
A. Employed with a semi government organization. Stable. Terrible.
B. I work as a consultant for my family's group company. I can do this remotely.
C. I wrote articles covering the startup ecosystem for a magazine. That stopped 2 years ago.

Annual Income: (USD net) = Just above $90,000
A. Net salary = $60,350
B. Net consulting = $32,000
C. = Nil
(Not counted) Wife's side business =  $4,700

Asset Portfolio:
1. Cash in account = $330,000

2. New Investment:
Apartment (ETD December 2019) valued at = $244,000.
My agents surmise a 7% annual return (net). That's about = $13,262 annually (net).
The last payment of = $217,500 is due in mid November

3. Vehicles (gas is dirt cheap here)
- My car = $24,000
- Wife car = $26,500
- Ducati Motorbike = $13,300

Debt: I took out a 7 year cash loan 3 months ago for various “I need to change my life” reasons. Long story.
Net loan amount received = $160,000
Interest rate = 4.99% (it’s ridiculously high here)
Total amount = $200,000
Monthly installment =  $2,400
Tenor = 7 years
(If you haven’t noticed, I intentionally matched my monthly installment with Income B.)

Monthly Expenses:
A. Life Expenses - As high as $2,650 or as low as $2,000.
We decided to simulate our “minimum spending” as a family this March.
Im sure this would change dramatically with life adjustments.

B. Monthly installment - $2,400

Saving: Currently save $2,650 per month.
I’m sure this would change dramatically with life adjustments.