Author Topic: what gets taken out of a paycheck in the US?  (Read 8740 times)

FuckRx

• Pencil Stache
what gets taken out of a paycheck in the US?
« on: March 09, 2014, 05:17:47 PM »

i don't get a W2 but just for living in the US and working what all are things we pay?
i have no clue but these are the things that i'm pretty sure we pay... federal tax, state tax, CALPERS (dunno what it is), social security (tax?), medicare (fees, tax?)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: what gets taken out of a paycheck in the US?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2014, 05:21:41 PM »
Calpers is a contribution to a pension retirement fund, only people in a job that has that would contribute to it (California teachers, cops, etc.).

This may help you: https://www.google.com/search?q=what+are+all+these+deductions+from+my+paycheck
« Last Edit: March 09, 2014, 05:23:13 PM by arebelspy »
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

bikebum

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2014, 05:25:45 PM »
Social Security is like a mandatory retirement program. You contribute to it and at some age (62 I think) you get a pension based on how many years you paid into the system and how much money you made. Not all jobs require Social Security payments.

Medicare is kind of like Social Security but it pays for medical expenses.

You can google these terms and find out more; the government has a site that explains it all.

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2014, 05:32:50 PM »