Author Topic: What else could I do with these degrees?  (Read 19752 times)

kmb501

• Bristles
What else could I do with these degrees?
« on: February 27, 2016, 06:52:04 PM »
I have a bachelor's in English / Secondary Education and a master's in Education with a concentration in English for Speakers of Other Languages. Originally, I had planned to either go overseas and teach or use my GPA to get into law school. Well, I did neither. I'm currently working at a detention center making about $30,000 per year. It's better than nothing, but I have over $80,000 of unsubsidized loans that are accruing interest every year. Plus, I don't really like my job. Teaching is actually pretty difficult, and I feel like I don't do a very good job. I feel like my bosses know it but just don't say anything. I want to move on and find my calling.

Bracken_Joy

• Walrus Stache
Re: What else could I do with these degrees?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2016, 07:01:31 PM »

mozar

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2016, 07:23:43 PM »
I think you should suck it up and stay until you pay off the debt. It took me 5 years to pay off most of my student loans, and I hated my job the entire time. I think it's easier to figure out what you want in life without debt hanging over your head.

kmb501

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2016, 07:52:34 PM »
I think you should suck it up and stay until you pay off the debt. It took me 5 years to pay off most of my student loans, and I hated my job the entire time. I think it's easier to figure out what you want in life without debt hanging over your head.

You might be right, but right now I'm on an Income Based Repayment Plan, and I owe $0 per month until I start making more money. Since I don't make enough to make the minimum payments on a 10-year repayment plan, I thought I would just stay on IBR until I'm eligible for public service loan forgiveness, unless I find a way to make more money.

ETBen

• Bristles