Author Topic: What dog food?  (Read 11265 times)

I'm a red panda

• Walrus Stache
What dog food?
« on: January 02, 2017, 07:20:09 PM »
My first dog couldn't handle a high protein food, so she gets beneful healthy weight.  The new dog does okay on it (and it seems his digestion is way better than what the shelter had him on!) but his burps can absolutely clear a room, so we are wondering if we should try something else...

Anyone have frugal suggestions? Right now we pay about 86 cents a pound, though I know a high protein option would cost a bit more (but we'd probably feed less...)
« Last Edit: January 03, 2017, 05:57:07 AM by iowajes »

startingsmall

• Pencil Stache
Re: What dog food?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2017, 08:29:33 PM »
As a veterinarian, my go-to recommendations are Science Diet, Royal Canin, and Purina ProPlan. (And no, I don't make any money off recommending those foods.... my current job doesn't carry any foods and my last job carried a completely different brand.) My pets have always been on ProPlan.

If you're looking for something at a lower price point or more widely available, I'd go with Purina One.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2017, 08:32:24 PM by startingsmall »

Shade00

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2017, 10:00:01 PM »
I heard good things about Costco's Kirkland brand food and we've been feeding it to ours for several years. One dog has a finicky stomach and would vomit with low quality food. We had to go for Blue Buffalo or Natural Balance stuff. She does well with the Costco food, which is a lot cheaper than the alternatives and I believe grain free.

CanuckExpat

• Magnum Stache
    • Freedom35
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2017, 11:03:24 PM »
Can anyone recommend a replacement for the Kirkland brand dog food that comes in a smaller size?

We've always fed our dogs the Costco brand food, no problems, great price point, but are in circumstances where buying and storing 40 lbs at a time is not feasible.

chasesfish

• Magnum Stache