Author Topic: What do I need to start biking?  (Read 5740 times)

Russell

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What do I need to start biking?
« on: August 10, 2015, 01:18:34 PM »
Hello Friends!

I am new to all of this crazy, awesome, Mustachianism, and I have just started biking to work this year. I am in terrible shape but young @ 24 so I can make things work. I currently live in Illinois where we get snow and decently cold weather (-20 windchill on bad days). I have no plans for this to keep me from biking.

I've read through Mr. Money Mustache's articles on cold weather gear, and buying from nashbar.com, but the prices on that site seem very high to me. I would prefer to go on craigslist / ebay and spend as little money as possible (buy as little as possible). Surprising I know. I am very new to biking and had a couple of questions, but any general advice would also be extremely appreciated:

1. What is the absolute cheapest oil I can use on my chain (that still works)? And where to get it? It seems bike shops always sell the marked up stuff, and I have been told not to ever use wd40 under any circumstances.

2. I have been looking for a winter jacket /face mask/ gloves/ base layer; that are lightweight and good for biking without having to pay an arm and a leg. Are there brands/ key words/ designs/ any other aspect, that I should be paying attention to while browsing? Examples are welcome.

3. I am looking for a helmet also, and wonder if there are known good brands. I have heard I should not buy secondhand, but are there any tips for doing so if I decide to anyway?

4. I am very interested in keeping my bike in as good condition as possible and repairing it myself. However, I am certain I will run into parts that need replaced. Suggestions for places/ things to look for by others that have gone this route?

Thanks for reading!

velocistar237

• Handlebar Stache
Re: What do I need to start biking?
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2015, 01:56:56 PM »