Author Topic: What do I need?! Apple pie edition  (Read 8022 times)

mozar

• Magnum Stache
What do I need?! Apple pie edition
« on: September 18, 2015, 04:30:04 PM »
I made two apple pies last week. I made the dough/crust from scratch. I combined frozen butter with flour and it took forever! I don't mind adding the water and kneading by hand, but I could do without this butter step. I would probably make pie more often if I could electrify it. I have a Vitamix but no food processor.
Should I get a food processor for only this purpose? I don't think I would use a food processor for anything else. I'm just one person and I don't mind slicing vegetables or kneading dough.
Does anyone have experience with the dry container that you can get for Vitamix?

AllieVaulter

• Bristles
Re: What do I need?! Apple pie edition
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2015, 04:35:27 PM »
I have no vitamix experience, but I do have an alternative for you. 

You can use shortening in the crust instead of butter.  It gives crusts a good flakey texture.  And since shortening is stored at room temperature it's easier to mix in with the flour.  I understand if you're opposed to shortening for health reasons though. 

JJNL

• Bristles
  • Zuinigheid met vlijt bouwt huizen als kastelen
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2015, 04:38:42 PM »
Another alternative: use butter which is near room temperature. This makes it soft and very easy to process. So either defrost your butter (e.g. by letting it sit on the counter overnight) or buy non-frozen butter and get it out of the fridge an hour or so before you start baking.

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2015, 04:40:47 PM »
Still another opinion:  Cold butter (not frozen) and cut it in with one of these:

teen persuasion

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2015, 05:57:32 PM »
Still another opinion:  Cold butter (not frozen) and cut it in with one of these:

+1