Author Topic: What can I do with a physics degree?  (Read 14200 times)

Griswold

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What can I do with a physics degree?
« on: August 06, 2015, 12:09:15 AM »
Hello

I need some life advice. I went to a 4 year University without much of an idea of what to do once I got out. I should have studied engineering, but the college didn't have it as a course path. Hindsight is 20/20 and I really regret going to that particular college for that reason (it seems like engineers have no trouble finding jobs).

I ended up majoring in Physics because that's what I was good at in highschool (and the professor assured me that a physics degree is very versatile).

After graduation, I went looking for jobs. The job hunt was largely unsuccessful. I've been working long hours at a nearby factory for the last two years in order to pay the mounting student loan debt from college.

What should I do? Am I screwed because I couldn't find a job in my field inside of 2 years? I entertained the idea of going back to school to get a degree in mechanical engineering, but it looks like that would take another four years, so I'd be almost 30 by that time. I'm also 50k in debt and it's hard to get a job that pays much more than 30-40k a year where I'm at.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2015, 12:11:24 AM by Griswold »

vagon

• Stubble
Re: What can I do with a physics degree?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2015, 12:42:14 AM »
Sounds like you still dont know what you want to do, which isnt a bad thing, but going back to study more wont necessarily help with this.

Is it just a higher salary that you're looking for?

Griswold

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2015, 12:50:39 AM »
Yeah, more would be better. My loans are $500 a month minimum and I'm only making $30k a year. I'm not doing much better than the average paycheck-to-paycheck American.

pbkmaine

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2015, 01:19:41 AM »