Author Topic: Bought a Mercedes kind of impulsively  (Read 4704 times)

apoorva

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Bought a Mercedes kind of impulsively
« on: January 02, 2018, 05:26:49 AM »
I'm new to Mr. Money Mustache community and this forum. I'm a Software Engineer working in San Francisco. I try to be economical, but I've not been systematic with budgeting or set clear financial goals. Recently things were going bad career wise and personally. I was just frustrated and I felt like I needed to do something to make myself feel better. So I took out a loan and bought a Mercedes car. I don't have enough saving to pay down the loan but I can manage to pay the monthly installments. I've been thinking if I should keep the car for a year and then sell or if I should consider the drop in value as a sunk cost and sell it now. What would you do as a Mustachian?

itchyfeet

• Pencil Stache
Re: Bought a Mercedes kind of impulsively
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2018, 07:33:22 AM »
Whoops 😬

If you really regret buying the car, then best sell straight away. Why wait a year and incur further depreciation.

If you really like the car then pay off the loan as fast as you can, and enjoy the drive. Look after the car and keep it 15+ years to minimise the depreciation cost.

Sibley

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2018, 08:26:38 AM »
Sell it now. Either go without a car, or you can buy a used one in CASH. And you need to work on your discipline. Buying a Mercedes because you felt bad about your career?!? If you're having work problems, you need to be saving money in case you lose your job! Buying shit is NOT a healthy way to handle your emotions, and really not good for your long term financial stability.