Author Topic: What am I doing wrong?  (Read 8978 times)

Maigahane

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What am I doing wrong?
« on: August 13, 2013, 11:52:24 AM »
I'm trying to sell my '03 Taurus. It's been up on craigslist for 2 weeks now and I have not gotten one response on it. I have it listed for a few hundred more than I expect to get but I didn't think I had it so over priced to keep people from even lowballing me. Here's the add:

http://omaha.craigslist.org/cto/3971611794.html

Do you see anything glaring to keep people from putting an offer on it?

TinyLightsBelow

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2013, 12:33:18 PM »
I'm no expert on car prices so I may be incorrectly estimating what people would see as a good price, but the last car my household purchased was a 2001 car of similar make with only 140k miles, for $2100. Prices may be different where you are (I'm in Florida) but I'd say the fact that it has 200k miles on it would make it difficult for me to pay $2400 unless it was a really great car in other respects.

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2013, 12:39:45 PM »
Price fixes everything....

What does KBB say it's worth?  Can you get something better for $2,400 on Craigslist there?

Maigahane

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2013, 12:52:21 PM »
A quick search on Craigslist shows 5 2003 Taurus's for sale in my area for $1800 (this one has been rear ended and there's plastic over the trunk to keep it from leaking) to $3k (mine being the second lowest). "Nearby Areas" has 12 from $1500 to $5600, 4 of them lower priced than mine. I would have started lower but I looked at this before I posted and thought $2400 seemed reasonable based on them.