10 (3.8%)
31-35
0 (0%)
36+
2 (0.8%)
Still with parents
10 (3.8%)

Total Members Voted: 252

Author Topic: What age did you move out?  (Read 33007 times)

Beric01

• Handlebar Stache
  • Law-abiding cyclist
Re: What age did you move out?
« Reply #50 on: February 06, 2015, 04:41:21 PM »
I moved out at 22.

Through age 19, I lived at home, attending community college. 20-21, I transferred as a junior to a state college, which was around 3 hours from my hometown. I graduated at 21 with several job offers back near my home, so I moved back in with my parents for 6 months until I managed to get an apartment. I was on the waiting list for 6 months (Silicon Valley living is crazy)! Been in my current apartment for 2 years now and it's been good, though rent in this area sucks and I admit I have longings for free rent again. :D

MBot

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #51 on: February 06, 2015, 05:04:32 PM »
18 in 2003. Didn't go back.

Paying for a room and a bus pass on a minimum wage job is easy. Establishing yourself as an adult is hard.

It was much easier to get a minimum wage job in the big city my university was in than to move home and then have to look for a job. 

mm1970

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #52 on: February 06, 2015, 05:14:35 PM »
About 19.  Went to college at 18, went home the first summer and worked 2 jobs to save money.  Back to sophomore year at 19, and never went back except to visit.  Worked on campus during the summers (and did my ROTC cruises) after that.

Ozstache

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #53 on: February 06, 2015, 05:23:58 PM »
15. I joined the military. Currently 46.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2015, 04:35:45 PM by Ozstache »

someday

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #54 on: February 06, 2015, 05:26:11 PM »

Moved back home when I graduated college.  My parents supported and encouraged me to move back home in order to save up for a down payment on a home.  My old job also had me traveling a fair amount so it would've been an even bigger waste to be renting.