Author Topic: What about smart (TM) cars?  (Read 4179 times)

highwayskies

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What about smart (TM) cars?
« on: February 18, 2014, 07:00:01 AM »
Anybody have experience or advice regarding this car?  Was surprised it appeared nowhere in Top 10 Cars for Smart People.  Seems mustachian, but I have no car knowledge.

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
Re: What about smart (TM) cars?
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2014, 07:36:56 AM »
I have not driven one, but I use Consumer Reports to research most of my car purchases.  The car didn't score very well overall.  Excellent owner costs and fuel economy (they reported 39mpg in mixed driving) but poor handling and a below average ride.  Accident avoidance was mediocre.
In terms of repairs, the '08 has done better than the '09, but still had a lot of minor transmission problems.
Overall it seems they liked the fuel efficiency and manuverability/parking but found everything else to be lacking.
They liked the Kia Rio and Chevy Sonic much, much better.  Both got around 30mpg in their testing.  The VW Golf TDI (diesel) was their highest 'fuel efficient small car' with 38mpg overall in testing and 49mpg on the highway.

some of their comments:
The Smart ForTwo's tiny size and turning circle make it a breeze to park. Its tiny engine returns excellent fuel economy. But the ForTwo requires premium fuel and there's little cargo room. Acceleration is slow, the transmission is jerky, and the ride is harsh. The ForTwo finished at the bottom of our subcompact car Ratings with a score of only 28 (out of 100)....

...has a harsh, choppy ride and crashes over bumps. On the highway, the ride remains stiff. Exhaust, wind, and road noise add up to a lot of noise, but the engine is often the worst offender. The Smart leans in corners and steering is sluggish, even with the optional power assist. On the highway, it is buffeted by winds or truck turbulence.