Author Topic: What's the mustachian way of life insurance?  (Read 11188 times)

sdavis

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What's the mustachian way of life insurance?
« on: October 15, 2013, 01:41:44 PM »
I'm about to sign up my DH for term life insurance.. but since his brother and his Mom passed before the age of 50 (both due to colon cancer). It's 85 dollars a month for a 500,000 policy, and 123 dollars a month for 750,000. (30 years for both).

This is a little astronomical I feel... but at the same time, we are still currently broke, as I am new to the mustachian way. We don't have any debt, and are relatively young (25 & 29), but we only have about $7,000 in retirement accounts & a 170,000 mortgage.

Anyway, what is the mustachian stance on term life insurance? Necessary evil? Only get short lived policies? (like a 10 year)

Thoughts?

hybrid

• Handlebar Stache
  • A hybrid of MMM and thoughtful consumer.
Re: What's the mustachian way of life insurance?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2013, 01:55:04 PM »
Can you get by with a $250,000 policy?  That's what I have, and it was $40 a month for a 20 year plan for a 41 year old.

Have you shopped plans?  I agree, $85 a month for someone in their mid to late 20s sound like a good deal - for the insurance company.  Maybe there are health factors beyond the family history?

Also, the older get and the bigger your stash grows, the less you will need life insurance.  $500,000 seems like a large policy for just a couple unless there are toddlers you have not mentioned.

Jamesqf

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2013, 02:01:11 PM »
Do you have a family that you would have to support alone if your spouse died?  If so, would you be able to support them single-handedly?  If not, then you need life insurance.

If you don't have a family, could you support yourself on your own earnings?  If you can, then you don't need life insurance.

sdavis

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2013, 02:03:18 PM »