Author Topic: What's the best use of extra money from a raise?  (Read 2405 times)

brokelibrarian

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What's the best use of extra money from a raise?
« on: February 08, 2018, 01:10:51 PM »
Hello, everyone.

Long time MMM blog reader, medium-time forum lurker, and aspiring not-drowning-in-debt lady. I have mustachian habits but no mustache yet and I’m at a bit of a crossroads in my financial life. 

Long story short, I’ve been dragging myself out of a huge debt emergency for 5 years and it’s been a long and winding road full of financial setbacks. My net worth is still a negative number but it’s almost $50k closer to zero than it was 5 years ago. I’m not putting out a full case study because I think I’m on a good trajectory (I live on about $18k/year and the rest goes to debt repayment.), but I just FINALLY got a new job that’s paying me competitively and isn’t killing my mental health (I was a prison librarian for 2 ½ years and now I’m a faculty librarian at a community college--more money, summers off, and most importantly: not prison!) so I’m at a point where I actually have the ability to make choices about my money instead of throwing all of it at whatever fire is currently singeing me.

Since getting a salary increase a couple of months ago I haven’t changed my spending habits, other than increasing credit card payments. I’ve been throwing every spare penny at debt for 5 years, sometimes leading to more debt because I don’t have enough savings for life’s hiccups. I get a significantly bigger paycheck now but I also have to budget for unpaid summers so after bills and planning for that I have an extra $350/month I wasn’t making 4 months ago. When the fall semester starts and I have an entire academic year to save for summer instead of one semester I’ll have an extra $700/month after summer savings.