Author Topic: What's a reasonable bonus?  (Read 5811 times)

Giro

• Pencil Stache
What's a reasonable bonus?
« on: September 16, 2015, 07:08:58 AM »
So, I'm fairly new to my company.  Before, I worked for a  large technology company and didn't get bonuses even for work I brought in.  This company is a small, disadvantaged (8a) technology company and I just brought in 8 new resources.  My team started out as 4 (including me), so I tripled my team. 

We are all "engineers" working a government contract.  We are also located in the cheap-o Midwest, so LCOL.  The salary ranges are $90k-$150k for the new resources. 

I worked the proposal, the contract, recruited the resources, did interviews and will onboard and train the new resources.  I was told I would be "taken care of" with a bonus for all of this extra work. 

What would you expect a fair bonus to be?  I don't want to be taken advantage of and I want to set a solid precedent for future work that I bring in. 

Also, probably the most important piece, I advocated for the new work at my office.  I spoke to the PM and sold my current team and my ability to perform amazing feats with a few more people. 
« Last Edit: September 16, 2015, 07:11:40 AM by Giro »

Pooperman

• Magnum Stache
Re: What's a reasonable bonus?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2015, 07:33:43 AM »
Apparently you're a few dollars short of having Giro, Inc. Seriously, you basically just ran your own business. Would you like to be out on your own or just have the bonus?

slugline

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2015, 07:49:49 AM »
The typical "bonus programs" I've seen usually have an formula that is based on meeting or exceeding some pre-established target level of performance.

Your case doesn't sound like this, however. Maybe a salary raise or promotion would be more appropriate?

Gone Fishing

• Magnum Stache
  • So Close went fishing on April 1, 2016
    • Journal
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2015, 08:52:31 AM »